Why choose a puppy with a pedigree

19-07-14 104 St-Bernard chiot.jpe
De l'Orée des Montagnes
A puppy with a pedigree, why?
And why such a price?

 

First of all, purebred puppies with pedigree are the result of a rigorous selection of the parents, guaranteeing that their puppies will correspond as closely to the standard of the breed and allowing to perpetuate their so specific characteristics ...

 

Choosing a purebred dog in a kennel also means supporting the breed and all the work done to safeguard it!

 

Choosing a "purebred" dog without a pedigree or a so-called "type ..." puppy is killing the work of breeding, at the risk of seeing a breed completely disappear ... That said and not to be confused, we don't denigrate crossbreeds, which are also adorable!

Breeds with pedigree in Switzerland meet strict specifications, drawn up by the SCS (Société Cynologique Suisse) and with guidelines from the Breed Club in order to meet the needs of the chosen breed. This includes breeding facilities, screening tests for recurrent diseases, in-depth character tests, regular checks organized by the Breed Club ...

 

On the other hand, some may think that pedigree dog breeders make a lot of money with litters.

 

However, the following criteria must be taken into account:

 

The choice of the bitch

 

The bitch will be chosen from a serious breeding, with pedigree and health record. She will be fed with a quality food, corresponding to her stages of growth and her size. She will be monitored regularly by the veterinarian for her vaccines and the various screenings for hereditary diseases, as well as wormed regularly. In accordance with the breeding regulations, she will only be covered after having been screened for dysplasia of the hips and elbows (from 18 months) and the selection examination at the breeding, including a morphological part and a character examination. in-depth: the dog is free to move around, without a leash and is judged on its reactions to different stimuli.

 

The choice of the stallion - the breeding

 

A beautiful stallion will be chosen to marry our female, with a pedigree and a genetic heritage without co-blood with our bitch. The female will move to the stallion, a service price will be agreed and settled. Progesterone monitoring will be done before this trip.

 

Pregnancy follow-up

 

An ultrasound will be done to ensure the bitch is pregnant. An x-ray will be done a few days before giving birth to estimate the number of puppies, an x-ray after giving birth also to be sure that all the puppies have been given birth. Ideally, pregnancy and childbirth go well and the new mother takes good care of her young.

 

Puppies- feeding

 

From the 1st month of pregnancy, the bitch will be fed puppy food. After giving birth, from the 4th week or so, the puppies will be weaned gradually and will also feed on this puppy food.

 

Puppies - health

 

A puppy must be returned to excellent health to its new family. That implies :

  • Vermifuge every 15 days from 6 weeks

  • Usual vaccines and reminders

  • Identification

 

Puppy - paper

 

A pedigree will be given with the puppy, which also has a cost.

 

Puppy - sale

 

Although with the internet it is currently possible to advertise for free, it is nevertheless necessary to advertise the sale of puppies.

 

Various

 

To this can be added the price of the shows to which the bitch can be entered and the time spent looking for a stallion or new families for the puppies. Of course, daily life with the bitch cannot be changed, except in affection and hugs.

 

Total

 

The total amount of a litter may vary depending on the size of the litter, the prices of the vet or the breed club, but you will have already understood that this is not free ...

Pourquoi choisir un chiot avec pedigree

19-07-14 104 St-Bernard chiot.jpe
De l'Orée des Montagnes
Un chiot avec pedigree, pourquoi ?
Et pourquoi un tel prix ?

 

Tout d'abord, les chiots de race avec pedigree sont le fruit d'une sélection rigoureuse des parents, garantissant que leurs chiots correspondront au plus près au standard de la race et permettant de perpétuer leurs caractéristiques si spécifiques...

 

Choisir un chien de race dans un élevage, c'est également soutenir la race et tout le travail effectué pour sa sauvegarde !

 

Choisir un chien "de race" sans pedigree ou un chiot dit "de type…", c'est tuer le travail de l'élevage, au risque de voir une race totalement disparaître... Ceci dit et à ne pas confondre, nous ne dénigrons pas les chiens croisés, lesquels sont également adorables !

Les élevages avec pedigree en Suisse répondent à un cahier des charges strict, élaboré par la SCS (Société Cynologique Suisse) et avec des directives du Club de race afin de répondre aux besoins de la race choisie. Cela inclut les installations d'élevage, des tests de dépistages des maladies récurrentes, des tests approfondis de caractère, des contrôles réguliers organisés par le Club de race...

 

D'autre part, certains penseront peut-être que les éleveurs de chien avec pedigree se font beaucoup d'argent avec les portées.

 

Cependant, les critères suivants sont à prendre en compte :

 

Le choix de la chienne

 

La chienne sera choisie dans un élevage sérieux, avec pedigree et carnet de santé. Elle sera nourrie avec un aliment de qualité, correspondant à ses étapes de croissance et à son gabarit. Elle sera suivie régulièrement par le vétérinaire pour ses vaccins et les différents dépistages de maladies héréditaires, ainsi que vermifugée régulièrement. Conformément au règlement d'élevage, elle ne sera saillie qu'après avoir été dépistée pour la dysplasie des hanches et des coudes (dès 18 mois) et l'examen de sélection à l'élevage, comprenant une partie morphologique et un examen de caractère approfondi : le chien est libre de ses mouvements, sans laisse et est jugé sur ses réactions face à différentes stimulations.

 

Le choix de l'étalon - la saillie

 

Un bel étalon sera choisi pour se marier avec notre femelle, avec un pedigree et un patrimoine génétique sans cosanguinité avec notre chienne. La femelle se déplacera chez l'étalon, un prix de saillie sera convenu et réglé. Un suivi de la progestérone sera effectué avant ce déplacement.

 

Suivi de grossesse

 

Une échographie sera faite pour s'assurer de la gestation de la chienne. Une radiographie sera fait quelques jours avant la mise bas pour estimer le nombre de chiots, une radiographie après la mise bas également pour être sûr que tous les chiots ont été mis au monde. Dans l'idéal, la grossesse et la mise bas se passent bien et la nouvelle maman s'occupe bien de ses petits.

 

Chiots- alimentation

 

Dès le 1er mois de grossesse, la chienne sera nourrie avec une alimentation pour chiot. Après la mise bas, dès la 4ème semaine environ, les chiots seront sevrés progessivement et se nourriront également avec cet aliment pour chiots.

 

Chiots - santé

 

Un chiot doit être remis en excellente santé à sa nouvelle famille. Cela implique :

  • Vermifuge tous les 15 jours dès 6 semaines

  • Vaccins usuels et rappels

  • Identification

 

Chiot - papier

 

Un pedigrée sera remis avec le chiot, ce qui a également un coût.

 

Chiot - vente

 

Bien qu'avec internet, il soit possible actuellement de faire de la publicité gratuite, il faut néanmoins faire des annonces pour la vente des chiots.

 

Divers

 

A cela peut s'ajouter le prix des expositions auxquelles la chienne peut être inscrite et le temps passé à chercher un étalon ou de nouvelles familles pour les chiots. Naturellement, le quotidien avec la chienne ne se monnaie pas, sauf en affection et en câlins .

 

Total

 

Le montant total d'une portée peut varier en fonction de l'importance de la portée, des tarifs du vétérinaire ou du club de race, mais vous aurez déjà compris que cela n'est pas gratuit...

rte des Montagnes 6

CH- 1261 Marchissy

Tél : +41 79 513 1923

Membres de

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn Social Icône
ARECR petit.jpg
WUSB petit.png

Nous parlons français. We speek English. We spreeken Nederlands. Wir sprechen Deutsch. Parliamo Italiano.

© 2020 www.st-bernard-swiss.ch. Créé avec Wix.com